Links and Info

Commodities

Commodities are goods or raw materials. By commodities, we mainly refer to primary products, raw materials or agricultural products, which have been standardized according to the customs of the trade, so that they can be bought or sold without further specification.

The high standardization of the products permits these goods to be used as pure trade objects, which means that they are no longer bought in order to meet one's own requirements, rather traded in arbitrage over time. Such goods are frequently traded on various markets, so that an act of arbitrage can occur on several trading exchanges simultaneously.

The New York Mercantile Exchange (NYMEX), the International Continental Exchange (ICE), and the Chicago Board of Trade (CBOT) are famous commodities stock exchanges; however, the bulk of the business transpires outside of the exchanges on the so-called over-the-counter market (OTC-Market).


Forward Contracts of Goods

The better part of the business consists of forward contracts.

Forward contracts are legal closings with deferred settlement date or time period. The settlement takes place "buying forward".
As a result, the market player can hedge against price changes far in advance of the delivery date, thus securing himself from market fluctuations. Although forward contracts have a bad reputation, they are an indispensable component of business risk management and in the export business assume the same function as a hedge against currency fluctuation.


Derivative

Today, trade of physical goods has been replaced many times over by the much simpler trade of derivatives. By derivatives, one refers to contracts that are derived from physical core businesses.
Financial futures, options or swaps are typical derivatives.


Power, Gas, and Emissions Certificates
are Commodities

Power, gas, and emissions certificates too, will be designated as commodities. On the one hand, these products are traded in order to cover an original cost, say for example, to offset production; on the other hand, they are also traded as purely speculative objects. In this duality lies the opportunity for the market player, regardless of whether they are used to cover costs or employed for pure speculation.

Links

www.epexspot.com
(German-French Power Exchange)

www.eex.com
(European Energy Exchange)

www.exaa.at
(Austrian Power Excahnge)

www.energie-und-management.de
(Information Provider)

www.energybrainpool.com
(Consulting Company with focus on Energy Business)

www.iebt.de
(Institut for energy business and technology, Consulting Company with focus on Energy)

ww.beckerbuettnerheld.de
(Lawyer Company Becker, Büttner Held, with focus on the Energy Busines)

www.kinectenergy.com/en
(Leading Energy Broker)

www.baywa-re.de
(Supplier for Green Energy)

www.senec-ies.com
(Producer of Energy Storage Systems)

www.eco-sunport.com
(Consulting-Company)

www.gsg.solar
(Supplier for PV-Power in Berlin)
©  2020 CommodityConsult GmbH

Links und Info´s

Commodities

Commodities (engl. pl.) heißt übersetzt Waren oder Rohstoffe. Von Commodities spricht man aber häufig erst dann, wenn die Waren, meistens Grundstoffe, Rohstoffe oder Agrargüter, durch die Han- delsgepflogenheiten in Art und Güte so standardisiert sind, dass sie ohne weitere Spezifikation ge- und verkauft werden.
Die hohe Standardisierung der Produkte macht es zudem möglich, dass diese Güter als reine Handelsobjekte zum Einsatz kommen, d.h., sie werden nicht mehr zur Bedarfsdeckung gekauft, sondern zur Ausnutzung von Preisunterschieden im Zeitverlauf gehandelt. Häufig werden diese Waren an verschiedenen Marktplätzen gehandelt, so dass auch ein gleichzeitiges Agieren an mehreren Handelsplätzen zur Ausnutzung von Preisunterschieden (so genannte Arbitrage) getätigt wird.

Bekannte Börsen für Commodities sind die New York Mercantile Exchange (NYMEX), die International Continental Exchange (ICE), die Chicagoer Board of Trade (CBOT). Ein Großteil der Geschäfte erfolgt aber außerhalb der Börsen im so genannten over-the-counter Markt (OTC-Markt).

Warentermingeschäfte

Der Großteil der Geschäfte findet in Termingeschäften statt.

Termingeschäfte sind Geschäfte mit hinausgeschobenem Erfüll- ungszeitpunkt oder -zeitraum. Die Erfüllung erfolgt "auf Termin". Damit können sich die Marktakteure weit vor dem Lieferzeitpunkt gegen Preisänderungen absichern und somit sich gegen Markt- preisschwankungen absichern.
Obgleich Warentermingeschäften ein schlechter Ruf anhaftet, sind sie unverzichtbarer Bestandteil eines unternehmerischen Risiko-managements und übernehmen die gleiche Aufgabe wie die Absicherung gegen Währungsschwankungen bei Exportgeschäften.

Derivate

Vielfach werden nicht mehr die physischen Waren gehandelt, sondern lediglich Derivate hierauf. Als Derivat bezeichnet man Kontrakte, die von den physischen Basisgeschäften abgeleitet werden. Typische Derivate sind finanzielle Futures, Optionen oder Swaps.

Strom, Gas, Emissionszertifikate
sind Commodities

Strom, Gas und auch Emissionszertifikate werden heute schon als Commodities bezeichnet. Diese Produkte werden einerseits gehandelt, um einen originären Bedarf abzudecken bzw. die Produktion abzusetzen, andererseits werden sie aber auch als reine Spekulationsobjekte gehandelt. In dieser Dualität liegt die Chance für die Marktakteure, unabhängig davon, ob sie zur Bedarfsdeckung oder aus Handelsmotiven tätig werden.

Links

www.epexspot.com
(European Power Exchange, Deutsch-Französische Strombörse)

www.eex.com
(European Energy Exchange)

www.exaa.at
(Energy Exchange Alpen Adria, Österreichische Strombörse)

www.energie-und-management.de
(Informationsdienstleister, spezialisiert für die Energiewirtschaft)

www.energybrainpool.com
(Beratungsunternehmen für die Energiewirtschaft, spezialisiert auf Preisprognosen)

www.iebt.de
(Institut for energy business and technology, Beratungsunternehmen für die Energiewirtschaft)

www.beckerbuettnerheld.de
(Rechtsanwaltskanzlei Becker, Büttner Held, spezialisiert auf Rechtsfragen in Zusammenhang mit der Energiewirtschaft)

www.kinectenergy.com
(Führender Energiebroker aus Bergen)

www.baywa-re.de
(Führender Anbieter von Clean Energy für Industriekunden)

www.senec-ies.com
(Führender Hersteller von Stromspeichern)

www.eco-sunport.com
(Beratungsunternehmen)

www.gsg.solar
(Solarstromanbieter aus Berlin)

©  2020 CommodityConsult GmbH